FIELD OF MINE

Written by Cindylou601
Copyright 2009

I lay myself down
On a soft patch of grass
In a field not far from home
Where as a child
I remember innocent dreams
I smile
Not feeling alone

Its you I return to
A place I can go
The wisdom of the trees
A place of my own
My dreams
And my questions
Hopefully answered
One day in time
With a smile from “above”
This precious field of mine

I’ve watched people
Come and go into my life
Each taking
A piece of my heart
I try to stay strong
Put up that high wall
Then watch it
Start falling apart

For its hard to be me
Its hard to feel free
When I don’t know who I am
I don’t think I’m ready
Please give me the strength
Let my heart
Be vulnerable again

Give me someone to share
My dreams, hopes and fears
Shelter me from pain
My soft place to fall
I have so much to give
This true love of mine
Is that too much to ask?
Is that having it all?

So its you I return to
A place I can go
The wisdom of the trees
A place of my own
My dreams
And my questions
Lovingly answered
One day in time
With a smile from “above”
This precious field of mine

This poem is from my heart. When I was a young girl until early teens, there was a quiet place in an abandoned field near my home that I found. It was quiet, it was a place I went to collect my thoughts and dream as all young girls do. Whenever I return there, I feel like I am still that young girl…priceless, staring up at the sky, the stars and shutting the world out. Everyone needs that “place” and this poem celebrates the freedom it gave me to “dream” and “hope”

20130624-104303.jpg

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

